Standing Committees

Jacksonville City Council members are appointed by the Mayor to serve on various committees of the City Council.  Committee meetings are called at various times to discuss and propose laws for certain areas of the City government.  Committee meetings shall be called by the Committee Chairman or by three members of the Committee.

From time to time, the Committee Chairman will delegate responsibilities to the members in certain areas of their Committee which they will present on the Council floor.

The Mayor and Chairman of the Finance/IT/Personnel Committee are ex-officio members of all Committees.


Members:  Don Cook (Chairman), Mike Wankel (Vice Chairman), Aaron Scott, Eren Williams, Jeff Lonergan.

The Finance/IT/Personnel Committee considers matters relating to:
     a)  personnel - union contracts, personnel administration and policies
     b)  finance - budgeting, loans, revolving loan fund, investments
     c)  information technology
     d)  meet with auditors and report findings to the Council


Members:  Lori Oldenettel (Chairman), Steve Warmowski (Vice Chairman), Jeff Hopkins, Aaron Scott, Brandon Adams, Jeff Lonergan.

The Parks and Lakes Committee considers matters relating to the City's parks and
lakes including:
   a)  condition and needs of parks and lakes
   b)  promote development, plans and programs 
   c)  The Links Golf Course, Nichols Park Golf Course and The Links Pro Shop -
        maintenance, staffing, fees and budgeting


Members:  Aaron Scott (Chairman), Mike Bartlett (Vice Chairman), Eren Williams, Steve Warmowski, Don Cook.

The Planning and Public Works Committee considers matters relating to:
   a)  the management, maintenance and infrastructure of municipal buildings,  
        facilities and grounds including City Hall, City Garage and Public Library  
   b)  public infrastructure of public roads and bridges
   c)  land use regulation including building, plumbing and electrical inspections,
        code enforcement, and zoning
   d)  review items referred by the Planning Commission and the Zoning Board of 
   e)  operations of Emergency Management


Members:  Jeff Hopkins (Chairman),  Lori Oldenettel (Vice Chairman), Don Cook, Aaron Scott, Mike Wankel, Mike Bartlett.

The Public Protection Committee considers matters relating to: 
   a)  operations and personnel of the Police and Fire Departments
   b)  public safety - law enforcement. fire protection, traffic
   c)  plans and recommendations to improve public safety


Members:  Steve Warmowski (Chairman), Jeff Hopkins (Vice Chairman), Lori Oldenettel, Brandon Adams, Jeff Lonergan.

Members of the Special Studies Committee consider matters relating to:
   a)  special studies needs and requirements of the City
   b)  plans and recommendations to improve the Town Brook
   c)  plans and recommendations to improve and increase recycling in the City


Members:  Mike Wankel (Chairman), Jeff Hopkins (Vice Chairman), Brandon Adams, Mike Bartlett, Aaron Scott, Williams.

Members of the Utility Committee consider matters relating to:
   a)  plans and recommendations to improve the waterworks and sewerage systems
        for both residential and commercial 
   b)  maintenance, equipment, and operations of the Waterworks & Sewerage 
   c)  rates and fees of water and sewer